home Discover SSC vball

Professional Sports Star of the Year Award

Go back to Awards Page

The Professional Sports Star of the Year is given to a professional athlete or coach for outstanding sports achievement in the past year or season.

Alex Morgan - Seattle Sounders Women

Forward who played a key role in the U.S. women capturing the gold medal at the London Olympics. Scored the winning goal in the semifinal and had an assist in the final. Her goal total for 2012 was one of the highest in U.S. team history. (Photo Credit: Jared Rogers)


Marshawn Lynch - Seattle Seahawks

Running back who ranked among the NFL’s leading rushers and set the tone for the Seahawks offense with his bruising style, determination and yards gained after contact. Tied team record for consecutive 100-yard games. (Photo Credit: Seattle Seahawks)


Eddie Johnson - Seattle Sounders FC

Forward who set the franchise record for most goals in a season.  Scored the winning goal in the MLS All-Star Game against Chelsea. Earned an invitation to rejoin the national team and was named MLS Comeback Player of the Year. (Photo Credit: Rod Mar)


Kasey Kahne -Nascar Driver

Enumclaw native who had his best season in nine years on the NASCAR circuit. Earned a wild-card berth in the Chase for the Sprint Car Championship and finished fourth. Won two races in 2012, giving him 14 career victories. (Photo Credit: Kelly Kahne)


Ryan Villopoto - SuperCross Racer

Dominating rider from Poulsbo who won his second consecutive 450cc Supercross and World Supercross championships at age 24, becoming the first repeat winner in six years. Won his titles despite a season-ending knee injury. (Photo Credit: Brian Robinette)